Monday, May 20, 2013

Filmfare Awards 1954 - The First Ones

Filmfare Awards, Indian Cinema
The Filmfare ceremony is one of the oldest and most prominent film events given for Hindi films in India.The awards were first introduced in 1954, the same year as the National Film Awards. They were initially referred to as the Clare Awards or The Clares after the editor of The Times of India, Clare Mendonca. Readers of Filmfare were polled to decide the winners, and over 20,000 readers spread throughout India participated in the polls;trophies were given to winners of the popular vote.

Hollywood star Gregory Peck was invited to be the guest of honour at the first ever awards on March 21, 1954 at the Metro theatre, Mumbai but couldn't make it to the function since his flight from Colombo got delayed. However, Peck did attend the banquet that followed the award nite atWellington ClubGymkhana), Mumbai .
Gregory Peck 
 In the first awards function, held on 21 March 1954 at the Metro Theatre of Mumbai, only five awards were presented: Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Music Director. 
The Winners of the first Filmfare awards were 
Best Actor
Dilip Kumar
Best Actress
Meena Kumari
Baiju Bawra
Best Film
Bimal Roy
Do Bigha Zameen
Best Director
Bimal Roy
Do Bigha Zamin
Best Music Direction
Baiju Bawra - 'Too Ganga Ki Mauj'

The First Winners of Filmfare - Bimal Roy, Meena Kumari, Naushad & Dilip Kumar
 For more about Bollywood please visit and like

No comments:

Post a Comment