Tuesday, June 25, 2013

2nd Filmfare Awards - 1955

The inaugural edition of Filmfare awards provided a platform of  recognisation, for which  both the pioneers and prodigies of Hindi cinema were thriving. 1954 was a quite eventful year for Bollywood with the defining movies like Nagin, Nastik , Taxi Driver, Jagriti ,Shart                ,Boot Polish etc. K.A. Abbas's film "Munna" becomes the second film to be made without songs. Music director Hemant Kumar is thrust into the national limelight with the release of "Nagin". Keeping eye on all these movies and their response  2nd Filmfare Awards were held on 27th March 1955.

Then  Chief Minister  of  Bombay Morarji Desai ( Later Prime Minister of India) was chief guest  of the glittering celebration.  The famous Travancore sisters Padmini, Lalitha and Ragini performed at award function. 

Travancore Sisters at Filfare awards 1955

The Winners For 2nd Filmfare Popular Awards Were:

Best Actor
Bharat Bhushan
Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu
Best Actress
Meena Kumari
Best Film
Raj Kapoor
Boot Polish
Best Director
Bimal Roy
Best Supporting Actor (Male)
Boot Polish
Best Supporting Actor (Female)
Usha Kiran
Best Music Direction
S.D. Burman
Taxi Driver - 'Jaye To Jaye Kahan 

 (Left to right) David, Meena Kumari, Bharat Bhushan and Usha Kiron

For more about Bollywood please visit and like

No comments:

Post a Comment